Cómo ser CERA


To be eligible for the CERA credential, you need to have reached the minimum standard required by the International Actuarial Association (IAA) syllabus in order to be described as a “fully qualified actuary”, and then also need to meet the additional ERM educational standard in line with the CERA syllabus. For some actuarial associations, the IAA standard is designated by the Associate level and thus the CERA credential is pitched somewhere between Associate and Fellowship (although is often obtained by actuaries who are already Fellows).

Actuario (FullyQualified)

En el caso de España 5 años de experiencia profesional, una vez obtenido el título universitario y accedido a la colegiación en el momento de solicitar acreditación (exámenes y módulos se pueden empezar antes)

Formación adicional en Gestión de Riesgos Empresariales (ERM)

4 módulos de formación con sus correspondientes exámenes

Ruta a CERA

All Member Associations qualified to accredit the CERA credential have their own routes and may also have accredited their own university routes. Refer to the ‘at-a-glance’ list on the right for the details of each Association’s individual route.

¿Cuánto tiempo llevará?

Note that in order to obtain the CERA credential you must have reached at least “fully qualified actuary” status according to your association, which normally takes three to five years. The additional ERM specific requirements of the syllabus mean that the CERA credential is likely to take a little longer than this.

¿Cuánto costará?

There will be fees payable for sitting the examinations, attending seminars (if part of the examination route), for the course materials and for any tuition that you decide to undertake. Please refer to your own association for further information.